Hair-apy

Kees had a comb-over hair-do when he emerged from the womb. A full head of dirty blond hair, neatly parted on the top (to the right).

How can you NOT love that face?!

Then, after the age of 3 months, it began to wear off on the sides.  It was thinning out as his head grew, or so I thought.

Is that a camera phone?

And then, all of a sudden, at 5 months, it looked like this:

The Hair - an aerial view

And this:

The Hair - a side tuft view

And people started to talk.  In fact, at a party last week, one of my cousins interrupted another to ask me what the deal was with Kees’s hair.  She asked if I had cut it like that.  Another cousin of mine actually told his wife that I had cut it that way on purpose.  Obviously, he did not clear this notion with me first.

Now why the heck would I cut it into a faux-hawk like that?  So I explained that he was born with a full head of hair, and then he began rolling in his sleep from side to side, rubbing all the hair off his head EXCEPT for the top.

I have always been against cutting my own child’s hair.  That just seems like a disaster waiting to happen.  But today, I bit the bullet and cut The Hair.

Square Hair

Hair therapy desperately needed

I think I may have just sent Kees into therapy.

10 thoughts on “Hair-apy

  1. That ‘do is too much! A friend’s daughter had that same sort of hairdo… but it stood straight up! Talk about a bad hair day, she had a bad hair YEAR!

    Great to see you online again… I was missing my Mustard!

  2. I love his hair. It reminds me so much of Grandpa Kees. Kees should get together with G.G. – he only has hair on the sides!

  3. He’s gorgeous. T lost ALL of his hair, and then came back with a bald spot which has finally filled in.

    Look at it this way – I won’t be able to get away with dressing T as Mr. T for Halloween, but you could totally do that with your cutie! 🙂

  4. Aw, he’s still so friggen adorable. Hugs to you and the little ones! None for Tony. Who commented on the hair? lol Laurent? HA

  5. oh Sarah, I CRIED reading this it was soo funny! I love how weird babies’ hair can get with all the rolling round. sigh

  6. Pingback: Kees and the No-Hawk « Cheeze Whiz and Mustard

What do you think?

