In the beginning, there were breasts

I have a friend who says she could tell that I was pregnant before I even knew. She looked at pictures from Sacha’s first birthday (I was pregnant then, but unaware of it) and could see that I was pregnant.

She did the same thing when I was pregnant with Sacha. I didn’t tell her until I was 11 weeks along, and when I did, she just said “Oh, I already knew that. I could tell.”

WTF?!

Then again, now that I think about it, there are certain things that happen to me as SOON as the sperm meets the ovum:

  1. My boobs increase in cup size. That’s right. I have gone from a 34D to a 34DD already. And I am only 5 weeks along. Last time around, I had to go buy bigger bras 2 weeks after I found out I was preggo as I had developed a nasty 4-boob-syndrome that couldn’t be tamed. That, and I couldn’t button up my blouses for work. The ladies just refused to be contained. had to switch to sweaters or wear cardigans over everything. Add to the mix that I had to teach phys ed to a pack of 6th graders.
  2. My face looks like I dipped it in a vat of chunky salsa and then into a plate of cracker crumbs. ACNE. Bad. Lots of it. I had terrible acne growing up, but I went on acutane when I was 19 and it cleared up. Then I got pregnant with Sacha. I didn’t even want to go out in public without some sort of hijab.
  3. They say that you don’t really put on weight in the first trimester. HA! Poo Poo I say! I’ve already put on 4 lbs! Par for the course, I guess, seeing how last time I put on 12 lbs in the first 12 weeks. GACK! Breasts and pimples must weigh a lot, I guess.

What sorts of things do you notice when you are pregnant? Someone out there MUST share my pain…

9 thoughts on “In the beginning, there were breasts

  1. I put on 6 pounds of water weight in the first 6 weeks or so, and suddenly couldn’t stand salad.

    Oh, and my face cleared up, which I’m sure will reverse itself during, I don’t know, labor 😉

  2. Whenever I change my daughter’s diaper, I get nauseous. Maybe that is the reason I have not gained one pound this pregnancy. I throw up everything I eat (even now in my 3rd trimester!)

  3. It isn’t bad skin, or larger breasts (like I look?), it is something more subtle, something about being more alive… OK, I’m nuts, but I did it twice.

  4. I gained 30 pounds in the first 12 weeks! WTF?

    I actually knew I was pregnant for both boys well before I could use an HPT….I was already puking when I was only a few days pregnant!

  5. All of the above! All of my friends were saying I wouldn’t show in the first trimester but I’ve already gained 6lbs. My breasts feel like two swollen torpedoes … they feel like D’s even though they are B’s….and they itch! My skin is absolutely horrifying! But, there is hope – try Tea Tree Oil.. it works!

What do you think?

