Bikini after baby?

Momentous occasion: Bring out the brew!

I am proud to say that I lost all of my pregnancy weight!

I would like to take this time to thank my son, the Little Dude, for sucking the calories away from me with the intense nursing when he was a newborn. If it hadn’t been for him, I would not have lost 30 lbs in the first 2 weeks of his life. Mind you, I wouldn’t have gained 44 lbs to begin with. Maybe I should rethink this thanking.

I would like to thank the Value Drug Mart for bestowing upon T last January a $4000 scholarship, which I promptly used my powers of persuasion (aka I am having your baby, ergo you do this for me NOW) to get T to buy an elliptical cross-trainer.

I would also like to thank my friend and neighbour, Lynn, who had supper with me and our brood of kids while T was in Ottawa. Thanks to her meals, which always included a great portion of green leafy goodness, I finally tipped below the 130 lbs mark, which I have been above since Christmas 2005.

Thank you to my mother for giving me good genes in the body-after-baby department. I owe you BIG.

And lastly, thank you to my dear husband for allowing me to lounge in our backyard pool and parents’ hot tub wearing this:


4 thoughts on “Bikini after baby?

  1. Great. Just in time to start chunking up for number 2. And no, I’m totally not bitter or jealous just because I’ve never been able to pull off a bikini, before or after baby. Damn you and your skinniness!

  2. Quick note: Don’t hate me!
    I had purchased my first ever bikini the summer before I got pregnant, and wore it while I was a camp director and we were doing lake stuff (maybe 4 times, tops). Other than that, I have NEVER had the confidence to wear one. Now, I figure I’ve got nothing to lose, and if people don’t like it, they don’t have to look 😛

What do you think?

